
Pop-Unders on Network Solutions Parked Pages?
I recently noticed the webcam for Lowell.com was no longer functioning. I visited the website of the funeral home that operates the webcam, and I came across a Network Solutions landing page. While I initially thought they must be making some changes to the site, I didn’t contact the funeral home to ask if something was amiss. Needless to say, I always have my pop-up blocker on, so I went back to the business of developing Lowell.com and didn’t really think twice.
Today, while in the process of doing something that required me to disable my pop-up blocker, I noticed their site wasn’t working again. After seeing the Network Solutions landing page (image below), I clicked away and got a pop-under with PPC links on it. While the header of the pop-up says “http://kolmic.com – Mcdonoughfuneralhome.com” the body doesn’t look similar to anything of Network Solutions’.
The domain name registration is current – and in fact registered through August of 2013. Has anyone seen this before? Is Network Solutions adding annoying pop-unders to their parked pages to monetize them even more than going beyond the standard single page PPC links or is something else going on here?
Related posts:
- Network Solutions Promoting .XXX Although the launch date and pricing for .XXX domain names...
- Network Solutions Offers $6.99 Registration Discount Code Promo One complaint I hear about Network Solutions is that the...
- DNN: Network Solutions Sued According to today’s post on DomainNameNews, a class action lawsuit...











Comments (8)
Ms Domainer
May 1st, 2008 at 7:31 pm
evolanding pages have pop-ups and pop-unders; I was actually considering trying them because they emphasize that they’re content-heavy, but I find such spamming practices ethically unacceptable for my own business model.
Let’s face it; all users hate pop-ups, pop-unders, advertising “welcome” pages, and sliders (those stupid ads that float across the page). Why do parking companies think that users will EVER return to such pages?
Delusional.
Ms Domainer
admin
May 1st, 2008 at 7:50 pm
Update:
As of 7:45 this evening, the Network Solutions landing page has disappeared and it now goes to a dead page.
admin
May 1st, 2008 at 7:54 pm
See comment #53:
http://www.techcrunch.com/2008/04/08/network-solutions-hijacking-unassigned-sub-domains/
tommus
May 2nd, 2008 at 1:53 am
Yup, I have seen this in practive many times as I am doing research on domain names. I really don’t like this practice.
Ms Domainer
May 2nd, 2008 at 12:58 pm
Network Solutions = ethically challenged.
Ms Domainer
May 2nd, 2008 at 1:37 pm
Regsiter.com also does this:
http://info.poets.net/
poets.net is an active website, and I DON’T appreciate this BS. It even has a popup!
How do we stop this stuff?
Ms Domainer
May 2nd, 2008 at 1:45 pm
One other thing: apparently GoDaddy does NOT do this:
http://info.MsDomainer.com resolves to “Explorer Page cannot be displayed.”
Margie
November 17th, 2010 at 9:11 am
I would never recommend Network Solutions anyone! They have horrible customer service and are always ‘down’. How are businesses supposed to run effectively when Network Solutions is such a scam?
Leave a reply