Domain Name Questions

NamePros Removes High Priced Sales Forum

If you’re a frequent NamePros visitor, you’ve probably been to the High Priced Domain Sales section on the popular domain forum. Although you can still directly navigate to this section, a link to it has been temporarily (I assume) removed from NamePros.

I have not been given an official reason for its removal, but I did receive a private message about it’s disappearance when I attempted to list a domain name for sale there the other day.

There was also a public thread on the topic. According to forum administrator NPQueen,  ”We have hidden that forum while RJ is working on improving it. It will either come back improved or there will be another avenue for them. In the meantime they can be listed in another appropriate forum.”

I always thought this particular sales venue was well-moderated, and I look forward to seeing what’s in store for it in the futute.


***********

Please help me raise funds for the Ronald McDonald House


36 Comments

gTLD Management

Possible Namepros Phishing Attempt

NameprosThis morning I received an email that appears to be a Namepros domain forum phishing attempt, which I posted below. There are a couple of things domain investors and developers can learn from this:

1) Have different user names and passwords for forums, blogs, registrar logins…etc.

2) Don’t click links in an email as they can be cloaked.

3) If you suspect that you have clicked to a phishing website, tell the webmaster and change your password on the real site

4) Protectively register similar domain names to prevent confusion – especially if your website allows people to sign up.

It appears this email refers to a site at wwwnamepros.com rather than www.namepros.com, and the phishing domain name is registered at Godaddy. The spoofed website has already been taken down. However, you should be aware of this now and for the future. It should also be noted that the Whois information on the domain name is not private.

Here’s the email:

DO NOT REPLY TO THIS EMAIL!
***************************

Dear UserName,

You have received a new private message at NamePros.com from steelejones, entitled “Trader Rating Notification”.

To read the original version, respond to, or delete this message, you must log in here:

http://www.namepros.com/private.php

This is the message that was sent:
***************
You have received a new Positive rating or comment from steelejones.

Details about this transaction can be found *on your iTrader page* (http://wwwnamepros.com/itrader.php?u=88275).

Note: This is an automated message.
***************

Again, please do not reply to this email. You must go to the following page to reply to this private message:

http://www.namepros.com/private.php

All the best,
NamePros.com


3 Comments

gTLD Management